WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,

I've already posted about this on the Heads Up! thread, but it got locked as the new month began, so not sure if it's been missed. Or maybe I'm just stating the obvious (I'm new to Automatic watches!) :)

I bought the Rider M002 Bauhaus-style Watch when it went on Sale to $60 recently (worked out around £47 in GBP).

I know there are reviews about the movement being noisy (eg, the "tickticktick" is a bit more noticeable than others I have) but there has been a change in less than two weeks.

It's suddenly started sounding jangly and rattles on my wrist - even when I type this! It's not had any drops or falls (I take it off at night) so I'm not sure if the rotor screw is coming loose or there's a part inside there - not that I can see, anyway.

Seagullwatchstore offer a one year warranty, though I'm assuming the purchaser has to return the watch themselves (bit annoying as the watch is still very "new" to me, but okay).

To their credit, seagullwatchstore got in touch within 2 hours of me emailing them (!) with this reply:

It is normal for the mechanical watch to have sound of the movement. The M002 watch has a little louder sound than other watch. It is not a fault if the watch can keep good time. You do not need to worry about that.
Thanks for your kind support.

There are very short video clips as examples, here. You might have to turn the volume up, as the clips were recorded on my phone, but I want to know if this noise is to be expected? The fact that it's different from when I received it is concerning. And to be honest, it's just plain annoying to now be constantly aware of it on your wrist, jiggling away.

Thanks for any replies :)

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
That ain't right at all!

No watch should sound like that unless they put a few 1 mao coins in the case before it was shipped from China.