WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Some advice please

Hi All,
hope your all well- and hope any guys from the US have a happy thanks giving holiday.
Im new to the watch scene and wanted some advise about getting a millitary type watch- boasting precision, toughness, solid feel (dont mind it being large), and so forth. Im looking to spend in the region of 200 to 450 US dollars. Im only going to spend 450 on something special.
At the moment, youl have to excuse my limited knowledge of watches, iv looked at the mtm blackhawk (which seems good, however, recharging it every month for $450 seems a little odd). Or, on the lower end, a luminox 8401 seems to fit the prescription well. Iv also looked at the luminox navy seals series 2 3953 which seems decent (although iv heard the velcro strap feels a bit cheap?).
But i would like to buy a watch which will last as well.
Im currently wearing a seiko kinetic, which has served me well- accuracy, toughness, screw in crown (which has been designed well) and so forth.
So if its not much trouble, please could you advise.
Many thanks for all the readers.
Kind regards
Sleepyman

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
Re: Some advice please

I have a luminox 6401 which has everything you want in a watch. I bought it on ebay for a little under 400 USD and I love it. Check it out for yourself and let me know if you have any questions.

·
3,631 Posts
Upper end of your price range... I'd look at a custom creation by Bill Yao at MKII Watches.

Mid range...Look at Glycine, Ollech&Wajs, WCT (Westcoastime)

Lower price range...Seiko Divers.

My first automatic watch was a Seiko Diver...6309. The modern version would be the 007 or newer "Sumo" model. HUGE bang for the buck and will last a long, long time. :-!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·