WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Full disclosure off the bat, I am not an expert on watches, let alone movements.

I have a watch that uses the Soprod A10 as its movement and so far i have had two issues with it freezing up within a year and a half. The first time was my fault, it slipped out of my hand from three feet up. I softened the blows by bringing it down off of my foot (tried to cradle it on the way down), but the movement still stopped. When it was serviced that said it was "likely a crossed hairspring."

The second time was completely different. About 10 months after its repair, it just stopped without trauma or incident. I manually wound it, it went for 20 seconds then stopped.

Does anyone else have experience with this movement? Is it possible that I have irreparably compromised it from my first drop? Also, does anyone know of a decent place in Pittsburgh to have it serviced?

I want to be clear that I am not blaming Soprod or at all besmirching it, I just want to know if I damaged it or if it is a particularly sensitive movement.

Thanks for any help folks.

·
Premium Member
9,185 Posts
I have the same movement in my Steinhart Ocean 2, that's I've had in the ocean several times with lots of swimming and body surfing... so it doesn't seem particularly fragile to me (with my sample of 1). But between the 2 of us, I guess we have 1 good and 1 bad... so probably doesn't tell you much either.

The A10 is a copy of the ETA 2892-A2, which has a very good reputation. Some more info here :

https://www.watchuseek.com/f2/soprod-a10-375340.html
https://www.watchuseek.com/f2/why-soprod-a10-considered-better-movement-2679010.html
https://www.watchuseek.com/f2/soprod-a10-movements-experience-pricing-info-551701.html
https://www.watchuseek.com/f2/eta-2824-2-top-vs-soprod-a10-953189.html

·
Registered
13 Posts