WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I've been enjoying this forum for a while and have picked up a lot of good info. Thanks for that first.

I'm looking for a GMT/second time-zone, automatic watch. I am a soldier, so I need it to stand up to daily wear and hard use. Not "g-shock" level abuse, but sky-diving, swimming, desert sand-storm type stuff.

My first choice is the Omega Seamaster GMT, and I may end up getting that. However I'd like to look at less expensive options, mainly because if I end up destroying it, I don't want to be out $1800 bucks. The Omega will be my retirement gift to to myself.

Anything in the $500-1000 range that meets these criteria? Thanks ahead of time.

Steve

·
Registered
24 Posts
Can't vouch for the toughness of this one, but it looks good and based on toughness of their other watches it should hold up well.

SEIKO Perpetual Calender GMT Quartz SBQJ015

Less than $400. from seiyajapan

John

·
Registered
24 Posts
Missed the automatic part on first read. I hazard to mention this one, but there is a brand called Steinhart that has a ETA based GMT that bares an uncanny resemblance to a R***x. A couple of threads down from this one there are plenty of opinions about the brand. Your money, your choice.

John

S

·
0 Posts
Hi,
my suggestions would be

+ Arctos GMT
+ Limes Endurance GMT

If you wanna know more you´re invited to make use of our search function. Both watches have been discussed in our fora. Enjoy reading !

·
Watchuseek Journalist
1,772 Posts
Hi Steve,

In the price range you are looking for:

- Hamilton Khaki Air Race GMT
- Ollech & Wajs M6 (GMT Bezel)
- Maurice Lacroix Pontos GMT

Cheers

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I've spent the evening looking over the suggestions you folks have made. These are some nice watches.