WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 268 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi - having been collecting vintage watches since roughly February 2014, I thought I would try to provide a summary of the watches and my experiences so far in this interesting hobby.

Historically I have collected art since I was a poor graduate student, using credit cards when I had no income and more recently, over the last about 20 years I have collected Bordeaux wine, but beyond that I haven't tended to have hobbies.

How I started collecting watches in the last year, including vintage because I like history and the 'historical aesthetics' of vintage watches is a simple story. I never focused much on watches, having a few Movados over the years and various $25 knockoffs from the streets of NY.

This is partly because my younger brother buys expensive Omegas and Rolexes using mostly my Father's money so I was a little anti-watch.

Then my Father died about 2 years ago (RIP Dad) and as the oldest sibling I received his Dfreemont Mt Palomar watch. I started wearing it and through bad luck had it stolen from my briefcase in Waterloo Station - I agonised for a few days before realising a lifetime of love and experiences and half my genes were MUCH more important than my Father's watch. So kind of to honour him I started researching watches, purchasing them and acquired my first Vintage watch in February - now I have 36 vintage watches - all acquired this year !

A few more overview comments and then I'll explain how I have organised my 'collection'.

Generally, I have always liked Art Deco as a style and so even as my vintage tastes have evolved some, they have been pretty solid in three vintage niches - trench-style, Art Deco and 40s/50s chronographs.

A Few broad 'stylised facts':