WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I want to get myself a swiss made automatic watch as a graduation gift. My budget is somewhere around $1500.
I have done some homework and would like to get the experts' opinions.

Two brands I was looking for, Oris and Tag Heuer
More specifically, I was looking for Oris TT1 diver, william's F1, and Tag Aquaracer 5.

I am no expert on these elegant toys and would appreciate anyone's recommendation. Perhaps more details on the comments of the quality of the assembly, the movement in each model, the durability of each brand?

Plus, I would also appreciate if anyone has suggestions on other brands/models within this price range $1500+/-500.
I am looking for a stainless steel, automatic watch with simple design (as simple as possible), not too big or incredibly thick. I want this watch good for both sports and suit.

The other question: I found the price is significantly (to me) cheaper for some models in Amazon comparing to the retail price. And there seems to be a little bit complain about those on-line retailers. It seems to me that the biggest difference is the warranty. Since the manufactures' warranty is somewhere between 1-2 yrs, how often do these watches need maintance? How would you maintain after the manufactures' warranty?

And for those of you who get your watch from the on-line retailer, how do you usually maintain that watch?

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
3,522 Posts
You can check the better grey market sites:
alanfurman.com
ashford.com
jomashop.com
etc.
I would look at the Tag Carrera automatic its $1800 on alanfurman

·
Registered
4,155 Posts
Ooh I like that Rado, havent seen that one before. Will keep an eye out for that. x2 on checking GM sites if you dont mind online purchase. If it must be AD, add Hamilton to the list as well, and Longines as well.

·
Registered
6,812 Posts