WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.
Recently I bought a Tag Link watch (WJF2110.BA057) on ebay. According to the seller the watch was a new store demo in mint condition. When I received the watch I checked it and (based on what I read about how to recognize a fake Tag) it looked real to me (I’m no expert, though): good finish; the case back has Tag logo embossed into the steel, laser etched model (WJF2110) and serial number (RRE0684); the crown has a single big tube; the Link bracelet looks real too.

Now about what made me worried. The watch came in a Tag box and with a Tag price tag (separated from the watch) but without any papers. Also the case back has a thin red line painted on it but no sticker. I can somewhat understand the absense of the sticker and the papers for a demo watch but why the red line? I contacted the seller (by the way, he’s a power seller with a pretty good rating (99.6) but most of his items are in a lower range ~$100-200) and he replied that the red line is to show that the case back has not been removed, that the watch is 100% authentic and he would never risk a bad feedback by selling a fake and so on. Does his explanation sound believable? What do you think: is this a real Tag or just a well-made replica? I have not seen any red lines on authentic Tags in my local jewellery store but at the same time I cannot understand why would someone make a really good replica with all the minor details and then screw it up by painting a stupid red line across the case back?
Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
403 Posts
post close photos

·
3,261 Posts
this guide Malfun69 posted, seems to be pretty helpful.

also, the red line could be a number of things... like a returned item, for whatever reason. I wouldn't worry about it just because of the line, but I would definitely do some research as there is no fun and pride if you don't have piece of mind with the authenticity of your TAG.