WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my second post in this forum and I hope you will find it useful. I enjoy watches and I am interested in the inner workings of movements, but not only I am not a professional I am also a beginner. As an amateur, I am bound to make big and small mistakes, feel free to critic.

In this post I am going to disassemble a Raketa 2609.HA (or NA using latin characters, as some if not most of you will know). The purpose is to get a better understanding how this movement was designed and works.

Some of the Raketa 2609.HA technical specifications can be found in: http://raketa.com/en/mouvments/raketa-2609-ha/.

The title for this post was inspired by a post by marc_wl intitled "The Anatomy of a Vostok" (https://www.watchuseek.com/f54/anatomy-vostok-68330.html) in this forum.

As you will see the photography is not great. Some of the photos were taken with a microscope camera and others with a Canon PowerShot SX200IS. I definitely would like to be able to take better pictures so all advice regarding lighting and photography techniques would be very much appreciated. Also I would be interested to know which is a good camera to take nice macro pictures of movements and watches and that could also be used with the microscope (I have a Canon adapter).

For beautiful pictures of movements and their parts I recommend the Naked Watchmaker, but you guys here probably already know this.

I took this movement from a raketa watch I bought on ebay. I am not going to show here how to remove the movement from the case I will just say this watch case required the movement, contrary to what is usual, to come out through the front. There is a blog that shows the decasing of the 2609.HA and also coves disassembly and assembly but again I am not allowed to post the link.