WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Patented Single-Hand Watches
SNGLRTY
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When you look at the back of a quartz movement, it may not look as aesthetically pleasing as a mechanical movement. The interaction of the wheels and gears of an automatic movement has a fascination for watch enthusiasts.

For many, this is the main reason for the preference for mechanical over quartz. But that does not mean there is no beauty in a quartz movement - it is just hard to see!

When you deconstruct a quartz movement, the core is very similar to a mechanical movement. There is a physically oscillating body. In a mechanical movement, this is the balance wheel at about 3 ~ 4Hz; in a quartz movement is around 33,000Hz! To have oscillations at this speed, it is the crystal structure of the quartz that oscillates.

As an engineer, I see beauty in this. However, there are plenty of other ingenious aspects to a quartz movement. So before you write them off, it is wise to understand them fully.

After reading how it all works, do you have a different view? What is your preference and why?

·
Premium Member
14,682 Posts
Good write up, though I am so petty that small typos in articles pester me.

I was already familiar with the basic concepts of a quartz movement, but I was not aware of the method used to compensate for temperature on HAQ. Thank you

Something I find humorous is that purists often seem to despise quartz vs. mechanical, but it is acceptable when silicon is increasingly used in mechanical watches lol

·
Registered
454 Posts