WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been collecting watches since 2011 and I've been through it all:

- Frustration with not having enough money to buy the pieces I want

- Stressing out about what pieces I need in order to build the "perfect collection."

- Anxiety about what watch to wear for this holiday / on this occasion / with this outfit, etc.

Then one day I had a moment of clarity, and realized that I was taking things too seriously.

The one thing you need to improve your watch collecting for life? A sense of humor about the hobby.

These aren't life-changing decisions we're making. This is something we do for fun, to escape reality for a few moments. It's a way to connect with people that share an interest with you. A hobby is meant to remove stress from your life, not add to it.

So the next time you're agonizing over a watch decision, just remember- they're little clocks that sit on your wrist. It's not that serious.

And most importantly: if 馃憦 you 馃憦 like 馃憦 it馃憦 then 馃憦 wear 馃憦 it 馃憦

馃槀馃槀馃槀

Registered
i think the most important thing is to collect for yourself, not for the resale.

have to remember that you are buying it for yourself and not just holding onto it for a bit before it goes to its new owner

Registered
Agree with that 100%. Well said. It鈥檚 all too easy to get too serious about watches. Keep it fun always.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Registered
I thought the stress was part of the hobby. You get stressed out and then you end up doing something about it and finally it's on the wrist and it feels like a blessing. Maybe stress isn't the right word.

Registered