WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here trying to pick up a good quality watch with a decent movement. Decided that Mido would be a good entry for me as their styles are nice and they are affordable. They use eta movements (usually elabore or top from what I'm reading). I came across this listing on the bay and instantly fell in love with the clean white dial.

Mido Baroncelli Stainless Steel Chronometer Automatic Date Watch M0104081101100 | eBay

This bay seller isn't an AD but the pictures look legit.

So my questions:

What does everyone think of this watch?
Does it look real or fake?
Since it reads chronometer on the face, does this mean the internals should be cosc spec?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Moderator Public Forum
22,772 Posts
Be sure to shop other grey market dealers. The movement should be expected to perform to cosc standards as long as it is relatively new. If it has been 5 years since the movement was manufactured then the lubricants will have thickened and it likely will no longer perform to cosc specs and the power reserve will have shortened some. That will happen whether the movement was used or not.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It won't come with outer box or papers. Is that okay? I was able to message the seller and negotiate down to $500

·
Moderator Public Forum
22,772 Posts
It won't come with outer box or papers. Is that okay? I was able to message the seller and negotiate down to $500

It's ok if you like the price and understand that as mentioned above the watch probably will no longer perform to cosc standards. The Baroncelli line has been around several years and the watch may be due for a service. The cost of that service may be reflected in the new price.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I do like the price. And supposedly it's a new watch, never worn and still has original tags and plastic on it.