WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to watches, and was initially looking for a watch that was an analog watch and had both day and date indicators and could be seen in the dark, and was affordable. It seems difficult to find a cheap (relative of course) watch with good lume, and both day and date so I ended up with a timex, T2N227. I like the watch very much, but my problem is it is only water resistant to 30 meters, and I would like it if the watch were more durable and I could wear it in the shower. From reading as much as I could here on the topic of water resistance I realize that not much can be done to increase the water resistance of a watch, so I was wondering if anyone could tell me the likelihood of finding a compatible more durable/water resistant case to swap, or if such a thing would even be easily possible. If not, does anyone know of a watch that is cheap, easy to see at night (either by lume,EL, LED etc) and has day and date?

·
Registered
5,289 Posts
Swapping case is not practical and not cost effective. Anyway many people uses 30M WR watches for swimming and taking showers. Since the watch is really cheap you can try, and most probably there will be no problem.

·
Registered
3,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I knew it wouldn't be practical, but I was hoping for a similar more water resistant case. I was under the impression that 30M WR was not enough to shower with from what I had read on this forum.

·
Registered
3,441 Posts
I have swam with several 30m watches and had no problem with them. Timex is a good quality manufacturer and I suspect they are more WR than they warrant. I think many times it is about the warranty and the level of testing a watch goes through. So the watch could be designed to be a higher level of WR and withstand it.
Agree with CCCP - not practical to change cases. Rather pay a bit more for a 100m watch.

·
Registered
3,135 Posts