WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry, noob here. I've got a lovely Swiss 6497-1 that I want to install in a case, but before I do so I'm practicing with a cheap Chinese 6497-1 clone. Following some online instruction (there's far less than I thought there would be) I removed the stem, however I cannot not put it back in. One of the little bars had become misaligned, so I took the stem-related parts out, and put it all back together. However, the stem still won't go in very far, and I noticed that the little bar that is pushed forward when the stem is pulled out (to set the watch) is moving freely (sorry, I can't remember the name). Here's a photo I took with my digital microscope:
barMovingFreely.jpg

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,478 Posts
Sorry, noob here. I've got a lovely Swiss 6497-1 that I want to install in a case, but before I do so I'm practicing with a cheap Chinese 6497-1 clone. Following some online instruction (there's far less than I thought there would be) I removed the stem, however I cannot not put it back in. One of the little bars had become misaligned, so I took the stem-related parts out, and put it all back together. However, the stem still won't go in very far, and I noticed that the little bar that is pushed forward when the stem is pulled out (to set the watch) is moving freely (sorry, I can't remember the name). Here's a photo I took with my digital microscope:
View attachment 602686

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks!
If the yoke is moving freely, you may have lost the yoke spring when you took the setting area apart. Here is a photo of what it should look like before you put the set lever jumper back on:

This photo is from a 6497-2 from a Panerai 116 (during disassembly) I'm servicing right now, but the setting parts are the same.