WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

Been a lurker here for a while, thought its time to introduce myself and contribute to this fantastic community. I am from Texas, a strategy consultant by day and a horology noob by night. Like most here, I love reading about the nascent time pieces and get inspired to mod/build one of my own. Once Covid forced me to stay home instead of flying 200k miles per year, I had to find a hobby. What better hobby than dive into (pun intended) modding a vintage 1016 homage.

As context, I am not very good with tools, barely know how to open a case back and change straps. 30 days or so ago, the #buildbug bit me. Then started the devouring of tutorials, eBay tool hunting, Amazon orders..more reading. You know ....the bug. Thanks to this forum for the tutorials, now I feel like I should contribute. Let's get started:

STEP1: Pick a photo to model after. So I want this, but I don't have enough cash after buying a Rolex 16570 and a 16013 to shell out another $13 to 20k

STEP 2 : Take picture of the watch you want to mod. I selected this:

STEP 3 : Disassemble the watch. Great tutorial here. This is where having the right tools help tremendously. My work area was a mess!

STEP 4 : Make the dial look like its from the 60s
A) Add a bit of water color, err on the side of diluting the mixture, I used brown, orange and green to get the aged patina look.
B) Let it dry under a lamp
C) Throw it in a toaster oven. 450 degrees, for 10 mins
D) A bit of matte lacquer to seal the deal or look :)

STEP 5 : Can't have a case that looks like its from last year can we?
A) Cover up the plexi with tape or take the plexi out, I didnt have the tool yet so I covered it up. block the crown tube with some rodico and protect the tube threads.
B) Throw it in a tin box with some rocks and screws etc and shake it! check progress along the way. Shake it to taste