WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been collecting Vostok 2809 for two years and the more I learn about it, the more puzzled I am. A few things seem relatively established – e.g. the movements with „ЧЧЗ” logo are older than the ones with „В” logo; the cases with 18 mm lugs are newer than the ones with 16 mm lugs and should be with “B”-logo movements (but there are many legitimate watches with 16 mm lugs and “B” logo movement, because the logo changed before the cases); 2809A was reserved for Volna and Vostok simple (because at some point all Chistopol watches were rebranded as “Vostok” and the former Volna became 22 jewels "Vostok" without "Precision"), while Vostok Precision should have 2809 movement. The 18-jewels 2809B is typical for Almaz watches, never Vostok, and could be seen with both “ЧЧЗ” and “B” logo, which means that the production of Almaz stopped somewhere after the introduction of a new factory logo, but before the brands reorganization. The earlier 2809 with ЧЧЗ logo have larger jewels. The movements from 1957 - 1960 have year and quarter of production stamped on the bridge, while these from 1961 - 69 are not dated. Some movements after 1961 are gold plated; the ones found in VP watches are usually gold-plated, but there are some non-precision movements which also are gold-plated. So if you find a VP without production year stamp, which is not gold-plated, there is a good chance that it is franken, but a gold plating is not a sufficient proof of precision movement.

But maybe the collective forum wisdom will help finding some answers to two puzzles:

1. When the production of 2809 began and what logic did it follow? It seems that 2809 was inspired by Zenith 135 with sub-second hand (https://www.watchuseek.com/f54/soviet-volna-wolna-cosc-watch-infinitime-13860.html). A Vostok with precision movement with sub-second hand is presented in a catalog from 1960