WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Probably wishful thinking on my part, but I'm trying to guess what the price of the GW-5000-1JF will cost if it is released in the UK. Taking Seiya's prices for the following watches, this is what I think:-

GW-M5600BC-1JF from Seiya = $237
UK RRP = £130
UK prices from various websites = Range from £80, to £105

GW-5000-1JF from Seiya = $356
Therefore, my best guess is:-
UK RRP = £195.00 (similiar to the lower prices when buying direct from Japan and applying the currency conversion).
UK prices from various websites = Range from £120, to £160

I'm still fairly new to G-shocks and I don't know Casio's history on deciding what models the UK gets and what prices they decide to give these models to us for.

So is there anyone out there with more experience than me, (or maybe some inside knowledge), that can say when / if this model will be released into the UK?

·
Registered
29,512 Posts
I feel it won't come here, but I could be mistaken. Your speculative pricing looks about right.

·
Registered
2,973 Posts
certainly i've done the same calculations before... it's just guessing but i don't think the gw-5000 will be released outside of japan. it seems the most premium casios watches stay local.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'll give it until the New Year, as I'm trying to resist buying any new watches until then. If it still hasn't come to the UK, I'll buy it from one of the japan websites.

I think Chino Watch is the cheapest at $318. Anyone used him before?

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
I'd say £195 feels right but it's been a while now since release and no show as yet. I imported both the GW-5000 and GW-5000B from Japan as I felt they were unlikely to get a UK release.

Incidentally the band and bezel for the GW-5000B is already flagged up as discontinued at Casio.

·
Registered
2,973 Posts