WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am a noob in the mechanical watch world. I found a vintage watch with a Swiss Avia movement. I wanted to give it some help with some oil. Not doing my research, I used household 3-in-1 oil. This is too thick and it bogged down the balance and escapement. Is there any way to clean that out or remedy it in some way? It probably has more value to me than anyone else.

I also tried to find the watch on the internet and didn't really find anything. It says TONY on the dial. The movement is a Swiss Avia 17 jewel with a Ball Watch Company inscription. It is square and tiny, less than 25 mm wide. The bezel is plated with 10k gold. Any helpful knowledge is appreciated.

·
1,287 Posts
If you're going to pursue watchmaking, commercial cleaning and rinse solutions are available (typical method is in the cleaning solution once followed by two rinses). Contrary to a lot of non-watchmakers thoughts, adding oil to a nonworking watch is not the correct way to get it running. The name on the dial doesn't always mean anything - it's the manufacturer of the movement. I also wouldn't recommend learning on a small movement - a larger pocket watch movement is easier.
Samantha

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the wise feedback! I will check out some specialty cleaning solution and lubricant. I actually did try to fix a Westclox Scotty pocket watch (without oil), but the jewels for the balance were shot. I did some research on this Avia movement, but never found this exact watch that I have. It's people like me that need people like you.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, here's the thing. It was working pretty well before I added the oil. It stopped then. I just thought that I might preserve it and refresh it since it was so old and had probably never been opened. In hindsight, maybe it would have been fine without the oil?

·
Registered