WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.
I’m on the fence about getting a SNR029J1. And I hate to say it but mostly because I know the watche’s value will only decrease over time. I tend to buy watches and wear them and when I get sick of them sell them. In the past I’ve done ok as far as d’évaluation with a few 100 dollars loss here and there. But I see seiko seem to lose value much more than other brands even in the high end models. Why is that?
The SNR029 is 4500-6000 usd depending on newness. I think if I get one the value based on watchcharts.com will only go down vs for example spending more on a Rolex and knowing you’ll retain value and sometimes even increase. Is it all marketing and the false appeal of scarcity? The seiko spring drive is from research a work of art and precision. But no one seems to put much value there I guess.
Thanks. I’m a noob so be gentle. Also I know I should get what I like and wear it. But I am not growing money trees so I like to not lose too much money over time.

·
Premium Member
65,019 Posts
It may sound a little harsh but Nokie is right. Just enjoy the heck out of the watch and accept any losses when the time comes to part ways.

·
Registered
128 Posts
I would recommend buying a pre-owned one so that even if you decide to sell you wouldn't lose too much.

I think the main loss with Seiko / Grand Seiko is New -> Pre-owned when compared to Pre-Owned -> Pre-owned. You might still lose money but might not be significant.

So, have patience and find a pre-owned in nice condition.

Good Luck & thanks!

·
Registered
143 Posts
i hear you. i guess my question was more about why is it that ROLEX used/worn hold their value more?
Combination of intense marketing spend over decades AND a supply shortage. Increased demand and constrained supply = strong secondary market. This comes with its own drawbacks though. It is hard to get one new, and used often costs more than MSRP.

·