WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello WUSers and WISers. I need your help please with a vintage Omega I just acquired with a 30T2 movement. The seller claimed the watch is all original including the dial, which is not refinished or repainted.

My concern is regarding the originality of the dial and the condition of the movement. The dial seems original to me, but I am by no means an expert so it may possibly be refinished. And the movement looks pretty clean except for some discoloration by the balance wheel and on the anchor. I have seen 30T2 pictures but never saw that type of discoloration. Also the two screws that are missing from the outer edges of the movement, he said a lot of times those are removed to ease tension (??). I just wanted to get opinions and thoughts on whether this was a sound purchase or not. Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

3367923_xxl.jpg

3367923f_xxl.jpg

·
Registered
13,447 Posts
Hi
My comment
Dial looks reworked to me. I can not see SWISS MADE at bottom.
Why is dial looked, but hands are not! Pretty sure original models were not lumed
Also crown - it it marked with a logo
Here is a genuine:

Movement looks original, but I never heard or saw screws missing that worries me, maybe its not an original dial, and screws were causing an issue.

Proceed with caution.
A

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment. Is that picture of a watch you own or you found on the internet?

The 10.98 million serial # puts this watch between 1944-46, most likely 1946 because 11 million started in 1947, and I believe Omega did not sign the crown at this time. Here is a link to the results of the case reference number of 2391 that shows a picture of a watch with similar crown which appears to be unsigned.

OMEGA Watches: Vintage Watches Database