WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I'm fairly new to vintage watches but was quite taken by the below piece,I have an opportunity to purchase this piece for £90 I have a few questions that I hope someone with more knowledge than me can answer:

1. Is the watch genuine
2. Is the price reasonable
3. Is the movement reliable
4. How serviceable is the watch

s-l500.jpg
s-l1600 (5).jpg
s-l1600 (4).jpg

·
Registered
635 Posts
Welcome. Black dial usually, but no always, means it's been re-painted. We can not discuss valuations on this forum but I wouldn't pay the asking price. Movement looks like AS 1802. If you never done watch servicing the best would be to take it to a watchmaker.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi thanks for that apologies did not no that rule, bit more info seller claims movement is cal ST 96N does this fit the model and would a high street jewler be able to service one?

·
Vint. Forum Co-Moderator
3,623 Posts
High street jewellers typically don’t service watches - they send them out to a watchmaker and charge you for doing so, so it’s mostly better to cut out the middleman.

Almost any watchmaker should be able service such a movement

·
Registered
635 Posts
Hi thanks for that apologies did not no that rule, bit more info seller claims movement is cal ST 96N does this fit the model and would a high street jewler be able to service one?
Having looked at this again - yes, it's a ST96N.

The Atlantic brand used a variety of movements from various manufacturers - ST, ETA, AS, FHF.

·
Premium Member
6,609 Posts