WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
  • Hello WatchUSeek! We are hosting an Ask Me Anything with Ian Schon of Schon Horology and Schon DSNG beginning on Tuesday, February 23rd at Noon, EST and closing on Thursday, February 25th at Noon EST. If you don't know of him, Ian is a desginer maker and was a senior product designer at IDEO. He is an engineer, designer and machinist who manufacturers his own watches, and also pens! If you've ever wanted to ask a question directly to a one-man watch maker, don't miss out! You can find the AMA here.

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I've just bought a vintage Bovet chrono. As I couldn't find informations about this model, I'd like to know if anyone can help me: what's the year of production and the caliber? I'd also like to know your opinions: should I restore the dial or keep it just as it is? Thanks, Louis.

Attachments

·
Registered
23,771 Posts
I'd say late 1940s, some sort of Landeron movement. I'm no expert in chronos, so maybe Roland Ranfft could comment.
I would never restore a dial that is as legible as this one is. It has real character and it's supposed to look old. It is.
Thanks for posting your pictures.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello, Ray.

Thanks for the informations. I agree if you that a dial must express its age. Could you tell me anything else about the Landeron movement? I've seen in other topics it's a common movement of many other watches. Thanks, Louis.

·
Registered
9,654 Posts
Hi -

I thought I had posted this before, but something happened to the post. :-(

If it's a Landeron 51, then Louis is missing some parts! Does the chrono work properly? The parts missing should prevent that from happening (and no, I don't know what parts are missing exactly: but if you compare the Ranfft picture to the supplied photo, at least one significant part is missing, I think those having to do with starting the chrono functions.