WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '60's Rolex chronograph that needs servicing.

Is it best to take this to a authorized dealer and have them have it serviced?

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So here is the watch:

As I've mentioned in several other threads, my great-grandfather was a watch collector. He died 30 years ago, and all of his collection has been boxed up. This is one of his watches. I am a novice in regards to watch collectiing, especially vintage watches. I know next to nothing.

The case reference is 6238. I googled this, and I am a little stunned. I keep seeing crazy valuation numbers. Is this correct?

The main difference I see though, is that mine says Tiffany & Co, where others do not. Is this significant? Also, the bracelet on the watch is just one of those flex steel ones, which I assume is not original. Apparently my great-grandfather loved these bracelets.

Regardless, I want to have the watch serviced and wearable. Is someone such as Bob Ridley preferable over a Rolex dealer?

Thanks,

Ty

·
Registered
677 Posts
Indeed that watch is very valuable.

Back when Tiffany & Co was a Rolex dealer, they would add their name to the dials. These double branded watches are rare and probably even more valuable.

The problem with a Rolex dealer (which will probably just send to a Rolex Service Center) is that they may try to replace the dial without returning the original dial to you. This would be bad because that dial is a significant chunk of the watch's value. They also may just say the watch is too old to be repaired. I would say Bob Ridley is preferred.

Some vintage collectors would also opt not to have the case/bezel polished because it removes a minuscule amount of metal and removes some of the vintage "character." Up to you.

·
Registered
2,220 Posts