I have searched, a lot, and cannot find it anywhere
It has a screw on front and back
Any help would be appreciated
Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
11 Posts
I don't want to be the provider of bad news. I'm NOT a Rolex Expert, but here are my thoughts :

Either the dial has been re-printed, either it's a forgery... Rolex are said to be "perfect" and this dial is far from perfect.

Maybe you should show us the movement. It looks like a 1920's Rolex, but wait for other opinions, I'm not an expert.

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
The "Rolex" stamps seems unusually crisp for an almost 100 year old watch, and the use of the "hammer" is unusual (though not impossible, since that symbol was introduced in the mid 20's). Odd, however, that there's no swiss hallmark to go with it. What's the number within the hammer head? ALso, I don't recognize the british office code, but the "d" doesn't line up with anything other then Sheffield (1921) which is too early for that particular Rolex stamp, I think.

edit: could be Glasgow; my normal source of date codes doesn't actually list those, but I checked the web and the d could be 1926. The cartouche is wrong, but those frequently are. However, I'm not sure they'd still have been using "7 world records"; I think they were up to 16 by 1926...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Well, to me, there are a few concerns. Assuming the movement is legit (despite it doesn't look like a movement rolex used like the old FHF or Alpina), the hands are not legit and the dial, badly restored ruins the history of the watch.

Maybe you should ask to have it re-dailed, but it's not an inexpensive task.

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
Take another look. The click is different, and the location of dial screws, case screws and stem release screw are all different. Those aren't minor, cosmetic things either. Your watch was simply based on the same ebauche that Rolex was using at the time.