WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
watch.jpg
Hi all. I have been wearing this '67 Omega/550 movement for about a year, and I am thinking of getting a decent strap for it. I have been using this vintage looking strap I got from Finn Watch Straps, and I like it but am thinking of something a bit more stylish. Any suggestions? When people comment on my watch they always ask if the strap is original too?!?!? My wife thinks it look hammered, and I guess it does. I almost pulled the trigger on a dark blue horween strap from the same seller but thought I would ask suggestions here first. I am a teacher, and dress casual most of the time. Love my watch. Had it serviced six months ago and am running +2 secs a day.
On another note, my wrist is 7.25" and am thinking of buying a second watch, a Nomos 38 night. I know this is the vintage forum, but do u think that might work for my wrist size? Oh and btw great forum.

·
Zenith Forum Co-moderator
19,146 Posts
I have one like that (at least it looks rather like that one) for my no-name Pilot watch. I find that, without the side stitching running down the length of the strap, the upper and lower layers of the strap separate too easily. Still, it looks nice and even when it starts to split, the strap does last for a reasonable time after that.

Hartmut Richter

·
Premium Member
7,574 Posts
I don't like dressy watches with distressed straps, just my opinion. I would replace it with a fully-stitched flat (or very lightly padded) leather strap. Color-matched stitching would be a little more dressy, contrasting stitching a little sportier. Tan or light brown would be my choice, but that watch can take almost any color strap, so brown or black would also be fine, but more formal.

·
Premium Member
2,829 Posts
I love the way a vintage watch looks on a lizard strap...my Gruen Precision on a thin brown lizard.