WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this should be under Vintage watches or Affordable watches...

I've heard that you can find some decent vintage mechanical Timexs on eBay for a good price. I looked a little myself and I saw they usually go around $20-$50. I'm just getting into watches so I don't know much, but I would love to expand my collection. What intrigues me about these watches is that from what I've heard they're pretty good, they're mechanical, they're very affordable, and I'm intrigued by the vintage aesthetic and history. I also don't have much to spend, so the idea of expanding my collection with another decent piece without spending much is very appealing. My question to you is basically any information you can give and/or lead me to about these, i.e what to look out for when buying one...or if they are even worth buying. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
7,590 Posts
There are definitely people on this forum that collect vintage Timex, and I'm sure you'll get some good and specific advice. I think there are some solid Timex models that you can buy for very good prices.

My main concern about collecting "budget" watches like these is the question of servicing, past and future. While I think you can make a good argument that the watches are worth preserving, the economics of maintenance just don't add up, unless you are prepared to service them yourself.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There are definitely people on this forum that collect vintage Timex, and I'm sure you'll get some good and specific advice. I think there are some solid Timex models that you can buy for very good prices.