WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought a 090662 off of ebay. No issues and I really enjoy the watch.

Decided to get another from the same vendor.

Basically the same watch except 090660 (different face and no date).

On this one, I have to shake it really hard to get it moving and when hand winding it, it feels "gritty" to wind it. Hand winding does not keep it running. :-s

Any steps I should be doing before I send it back?

Also.. do the case finishes vary?? On the 090662 it almost looks bead blasted and the 090660 looks just like stock photo off ebay.

FYI - These are my first Russian watches, so I am a noob in Russian watches.

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
Sounds like a lubrication problem. Unfortunately, Vostok's QC is not what it used to be, and sometimes you get a dud. There are some conspiracy theorists out there that think the reason some of these new Amphibias are so cheap from some sellers on eBay is that they are selling the watches that didn't make the QC cut. I don't know if this is true or not, but I have gotten a few non-runners from various bargain basement sellers. Rather than send them back and hope that they make it, and hope that the seller refunds my money, I delved into servicing the non-runners myself. Ratfacedgit's videos on youtube have proven invaluable in this, and I can proudly say that of the 4 new non-runners I have purchased, 3 are now running. 1 had a tangled balance spring that was easily remedied; 1 was missing a jewel on the pallet fork that is still sitting in my parts box and is not running yet, and the other 2 had a lack of lubrication that was fixed by disassembly, cleaning and re lubing. Doing this has also led me to pick up a BUNCH of Soviet era Vostoks that are listed as 'not running' for next to nothing and get them running.