WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone... I'm relatively new to Russian watches and have been a voracious reader of the various posts over the past few weeks. I'm looking to purchase a watch soon and I'm interested in the Amphibian and the Komandirskie watches.

Which leads me to a series of questions, beginning with which one do you prefer and why?

Are the differences between the two great? Or are they comparable? Please correct me if I have made an error in my deductions, though I have noticed (from various websites and the article by Irina Maier)
that the Amphibian's case is stainless steel and that the Komandirskie has a stainless steel back but the case is polished chrome. Does the stainless steel of the Amphibian have a "mirror-like" quality like that of the polished chrome of the Komandirskie or is it more subdued or possess a "brushed" quality? It is difficult to tell from photos.

Personally, I'm leaning towards purchasing an Amphibian. From what I have gathered from reading the posts is that everyone seems to prefer the "Blue Diver" Amphibian over the "Black Diver". Most of these watches have a distinct military feel and air to them, as demonstrated by the various branch affiliations, are these "diving watches" designed for the military?

Please provide any advice you can offer and let me know which watch you would recommend for beginning a collection (and specifically the color between the "blue diver" and the "black diver" as I am most torn between these two.)

Any advice, opinions or comments would be most helpful. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Hi !
Just my two cents about the Komandirskie and Amphibia :
Amphibia's case is in stainless steel, with mirror finish.