WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm back....

Posting this afternoon because I just got off working 24 hours straight overseeing a remediation pump test at a local manufacturing facility. I'm a geologist and we're testing a fairly new techology in abating PCB and oil contaminated soil.

Anyway.... I am presented with a happy dilemma, I can purchase a TAG (300M AR Quartz Chrono) online or at a local AD. I have been told that the TAG warranty comes with the AD purchase but does not come with the online purchase. The TAG at the AD is around $1,870 and the TAG online (Jomashop) is around $1580. I have asked the AD if they will match the online price or, at least, work with me on it and was told that they are already offering a discount from the list price of $2200 and refuse to go any lower.

So, how does the warranty issue work and would it be worth my while to save $300 and buy online?

Thank you for your thoughts on the matter.

Rob

·
Registered
818 Posts
Jomashop, among others, is a gray market [I think that's what it's called] seller. Jomashop will not provide you with a TAG warranty because they are not an AD. If I'm not mistaken, Jomashop offers their own warranty with their watches through them, not the company of the watch. TAG does not care where you bought it if you're willing to pay the money to have it serviced or fixed (as long as it's real...) so essentially that $300 you save from Jomashop is for a TAG warranty and probably the paperwork. The likelihood of needing the warranty that soon into the purchase is somewhat unlikely so if you can save some money, you may want to consider it...

·
Registered
6,781 Posts
Thats the $64,000 question. If the watch doesnt have an issue within 2 years, you ar up $300. If it does, then Jomashop will warranty it (I assume) for a certain length of time and will be repaired by a watchmaker/facility of their choice but likely not by TAG itself.