WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
8,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This morning I woke up thinking about watches. (That never happens…. mm hmm.) I was pondering this question: in January and February 2012 I'll be in Australia for a month for work. I'm a musician, and it's summer festival time in Oz. I have to travel lightly, and I should only take one watch. But which watch?

I'm hoping this gives me a chance to buy something new, of course. I'll use the question as an excuse to get my WUS friends to participate.

Criteria:
- cheap enough to bash around, under $200 ideal
- stylish enough to suit a performing musician, not boring
- quartz preferred for sturdiness + accuracy, solar/kinetic best
- standard crown, not a Casio multi-button interface (I'm stoopid)
- 40mm ideal, 38-42 limit, <12mm thick.
- sapphire would be nice for durability, not required
- normal lugs (I'll use a nylon zulu or nato strap)
- Ultra bright lume! Even a luminous dial or tritium would be better.
- simple dial, easy to read, prefer no chrono, nor bezels.

None of these criteria are locked in cement - I'm playing around with many options. It mostly has to be reliable for some abuse, cheap and accurate. I plan to bargain-hunt and look for used options also. I have 5 months.

Of the many watches I already own, I might just take my old Seiko quartz moon watch, Orient Mako, Hager Commando, or quirky blue Sea-Gull. But this is an excuse to shop. I like aspects of these:

Graf Zeppelin Flatline ($269) (+) 39x7mm, (-) battery, glass, low lum
7334-4_th.jpg

Citizen BL5280-52W ($300+) (+) lum dial, solar (-) big 42x14mm, expensive, bezel, glass
EcoBL5280-52W.jpg

Citizen BM8180-03E ($87) (+) 37x9mm, cheap, solar, (-) boring, small, glass
(hopefully this grabbed picture isn't too big)
EcoBM8180-03E.jpg

Citizen BM6400-00E ($120) (+) 40x11mm, solar (-) odd font, glass
EcoBM6400-00E.jpg