WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hello there. I received the pictured watch in the post today, from India. It appears to be a Seiko, but the finishing quality is poor - the edges of the case are still sharp from stamping, and there are lots of milling marks. I note that the rotor is unbranded, and most images of 6319 movements show a rotor branded 'SEIKO'. All thoughts are most appreciated. It is gaining 42m/day...‎

·
Registered
4,819 Posts
The case back looks real but unfortunately, I cannot say the same for the rest of the watch. I am no expert but the Seiko logo in the dial is not the correct typeface and does not match the one on the back.

·
Premium Member
7,745 Posts
That is an aftermarket dial. The Seikos from India are well-known to always be butchered with aftermarket parts. Not sure why they keep doing that there.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That is an aftermarket dial. The Seikos from India are well-known to always be butchered with aftermarket parts. Not sure why they keep doing that there.
Thanks very much for your advice. The hideous/tacky dial actually attracted me to the watch in the first place, believe it or not. I'm more concerned with the movement: the main part of the movement looks original Seiko, but the rotor doesn't have the usual Seiko mark on it. Could this be a Seiko movement intended for another brand of watch and then put into this 'Monstrosity in Mumbai‎'? Or is the whole movement junk? Is it worth investigating the horrendous gain of 40+ minutes per day? I'd like to wear it, but not with that degree of inaccuracy.

Thanks again,

Niall‎

·
Registered
2,684 Posts
I'd be concerned about the rotor too. It seems a bit strange that it's missing the Seiko mark.

The caseback markings seem off to me too, the Seiko typeface looks different, the Suwa logo also looks a little wrong, and I don't think a 6309-7000 is that case.

·
Registered
4,819 Posts