WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to start this thread to discuss analyze all the great things different watch companies are known for. When you think of certain features on a watch, what brand do you think of ? Who does it the best? I am far from an expert but I will start.

I really like Grand Seiko's for their accuracy. Is there anyone who makes a more accurate automatic watch??

·
Moderator Emeritus
55,396 Posts
I really like Grand Seiko's for their accuracy. Is there anyone who makes a more accurate automatic watch??
Yes. But I do not get what esp. makes the Grand Seiko an standard setter or Seiko a watch innovater (which they are but I am missing the link to the Grand Seiko).

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
The King of Laconic answers! :-!

JLC (Jaeger leCoultre) has the most horological patents, I think. Just do not ask me about them, as I do not have a clue.

One quite major step forward was taken in 1904, when Cartier designed a Wrist watch, that was Humidity proof and Dust proof. (I guess if a watch is humidity proof, it will automatically be dustproof) for the famous Brazilian Aeronautical Pioneer Alberto Santos-Dumont, also Mr Cartier's drinking buddy.

Reactions: Watchbreath

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
Seiko made the first commersial Quartz watch. I think.
Bulova made the Tuning Fock

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
Brequet. The first company that made a multi-complication watch, finished in early 1800's

Made for the Austrian Archduchess Maria Antonia. She never received it as those nasty Frenchies cut her head off.

·
Registered
41,736 Posts
:-| Bloody Jacobins and she never said, "then let them eat cake".
Brequet. The first company that made a multi-complication watch, finished in early 1800's

Made for the Austrian Archduchess Maria Antonia. She never received it as those nasty Frenchies cut her head off.

·
Banned
21,244 Posts
:-| Bloody Jacobins and she never said, "then let them eat cake".