WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to collecting watches, but reading through the various news sources, I see a lot of puff pieces and press release re-prints. I suppose I was wondering if there was a more critical press available? Stuff like "Why is this movement being sold in an over-priced case for $xK?", or "the finishing is inferior to these 5 brands..." or even "hooray, X brand releases yet another color variation on the same watch and charges $2K more for it..."

Askmen's Watch Snob seems to be the only critical press out there, and, well, let's just say that the whole schtick, lack of consistency, and not very critical evaluation really isn't helpful. PuristS tend to get the depth, but of course they just review very high end stuff where it generally is just a matter of taste rather than construction quality.

·
Registered
753 Posts
Good question, I'm curious about that too. Going to keep an eye on this post :)

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
I am relatively new to collecting watches, but reading through the various news sources, I see a lot of puff pieces and press release re-prints. I suppose I was wondering if there was a more critical press available? Stuff like "Why is this movement being sold in an over-priced case for $xK?", or "the finishing is inferior to these 5 brands..." or even "hooray, X brand releases yet another color variation on the same watch and charges $2K more for it..."

Askmen's Watch Snob seems to be the only critical press out there, and, well, let's just say that the whole schtick, lack of consistency, and not very critical evaluation really isn't helpful. PuristS tend to get the depth, but of course they just review very high end stuff where it generally is just a matter of taste rather than construction quality.