WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
Just a heads up guys that there are scammers around on the forum watching the sales listings. I have a watch up for sale and I got an email from one Christine Schmidt relating to it. This in and of itself was not unusual as I have received emails in the past from propective buyers. But when I replied, the next reply from Christine immediately looked to me to be very similar in language to the various scams around online. Anyway I obviously deleted the emails and have not replied again. I also received an identically worded email from a Mr. Matt Codd a few minutes later. I work in IT so its my job to notice these things so just in case any body is contacted by these types be careful.

Also if you are using paypal, then be advised that paypal emails do not come with signatures or escrow arrangements. There is only one real way to be sure if your funds are there, log into paypal from your browser and not via a link from an email. Then check to see that the funds are there. Scammers will sometimes duplicate the paypal email format to trick you into thinking you have been paid. Also remember that the from field in an email means essentially nothing, it can easily be spoofed. The only way to really check where it came from would be to check the headers of the email which may be beyond non technical types so the easy way is just log into your paypal and check for payment. All the best.
Barry.

·
Registered
14,071 Posts
I stopped putting my email is WTS or WTB ads also. I had one person, obvious scammer, contact me for every watch I was looking for!

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ya good idea, I think from now on I will get people to contact me through the WUS private message system before I divulge my email address. Thanks for the advice.

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter #6