WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very new to the watch hobby, and just recently bought my first automatic; a Fortis B-42 Pilot Professional GMT based on the ETA-7754 movement.

When reading the forums here, I see that there are many themes of collections. Some favor specific brands, some specific movements, or some are into divers. Being an engineer, I'm facinated by the differtent technologies behind the watches. And just maybe that would be the "theme" of a modest collection of mine in the future. But what fundamental technologies are there? Here is my first attempt on a short list:

1. A manual wind mechanical.
2. An automatic mechanical.
3. A quartz-based digital (LED or LCD display).
4. A quartz-based analog.
5. A tuning fork-based analog (Accutron or similar).
6. Seiko spring drive.
7. A generator based digital (Ventura Sparc and predecessors)
8. ...?

Can you think of any additional significant technology? I know that some of the items in the list above do overlap and are not completely unique, but I like to think of them as quite distingctive anyhow.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Depending on how fine you want to make your divisions;
Quartz analog-digital
Quartz solar
Quartz radio
Quartz kinetic

And you could go crazy with: :-x
Automatic mechanical - bumper
Automatic mechanical - fullsize rotor
Automatic mechanical - microrotor

·
Banned
11,612 Posts
6. Seiko spring drive.
8. ...?
That list is good but it can be segmented further considerably. For example, you can add to that:

- Highly complicated (as in added complications) mechanicals (hand wind or auctomatic)
- Automatic Chronograph's *
- Manual Chronograph's *
- Jump Hour movements (quartz and mechanical)
- Digital Mechanicals (not jumphour designs)
- Bumpers
- High Torque Quartz
- High end quartz (non-thermocompensated)
- High end quartz (thermocompensated)
- Radio Controlled Quartz
- Multi Sensor quartz digitals