WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still learning about navigating WISdom. I have bought and sold a few watches, but something new has come up. A watch I am interested in is in good outer condition, but had a mechanical problem and went back to the factory for overhaul and replacement of parts. The watch apparently works well now.
Now if I was buying a car or washing machine, this story would make me quite nervous. Is it the same with watches, or is it likely Ok? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
867 Posts
In many instances, "refurbished" products are more reliable than their new counterparts. Generally only a sample set of a product is put through the whole quality control process, so when buying a new item chances are that it was not one of them. With a refurbished product, it's guaranteed that it went through the whole QC process and had any issues fixed.

I don't know if the same holds true with watches, but I would imagine if the manufacturer gave it a service and overhaul, I would expect it to be good-as-new.

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
It would depend on which watch company, how old the watch is, what was serviced and what was replaced.
In the most basic terms, a mechanical watch is just a machine, one that breaks down and needs replacement parts. Not unusual at all, but in the watch world, it is extremely important to keep a watch as original as possible. Just because it was serviced at the factory does not ensure proper care taken to keep it proper.

as always, photos help.

·
Vendor
3,058 Posts
If the work was done by a reputable shop (which it sounds like it was) and using good parts, it should be ready to rock for many years before needing another service.

·
Registered
275 Posts