WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Newbie here. I have a Hamilton Jazzmaster Viewmatic, and I'm looking to get an upgrade for my birthday coming up in a few months. I'd like to get something with similar functionality -- fairly basic automatic mechanical watch, must have at least date, similar size (40mm diameter), leather strap, but something with more hand craftsmanship, finer detail, and pedigree. Not a fan of roman numerals. Will need to stand up to everyday use and not be an occasional dress watch. Looking to spend up to $5k and will gladly consider used.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!

- Bill.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Hamilton Jazzmaster --> ~5K watch = one heck of an upgrade. There are boatloads of watches at that price point that meet your criteria. Keep perusing this forum and looking at photos. Something will speak to you. More likely than not, multiple things will speak to you.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Does not get a lot of love here, but at that price range with that criteria, my decision would be fairly easy. JLC Master Control. With a bit of negotiating you may even be able to get it brand new for maybe $500 over your budget. Used should be easy at your budget. It's even got a similar look to your Hamilton in terms of being a dress watch with a bit of sporty/everyday feel.

And nothing against Hamilton, but jumping from a Hammy to a JLC is basically going from Single A to the All Star game. You will have no doubt you upgraded.

·
Registered
136 Posts
In no particular order; straight off the top of my head: Tudor, Omega, Oris, Sinn, Ball, Bremont, Zenith, tons of others I am forgetting...

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Ideas:

IWC Portofino or XVIII Pilot

Omega Seamaster Aquaterra - probably need to go gray market or gently used, and depends if you can deal with that dial. great watch, but not my preference