WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello members of the Watchuseek forum,

Let me just take a moment to introduce myself. My name is Marek and I am a manager of a rapidly expanding repair centre based in West London, UK. We currently are the official warranty service centre for nine Swiss brands, and are planning on expanding to 12 by the new year. We are also a repair centre for some of Britain's best known high-street jewellery shop chains, and some of its well respected independent jewellers. I don't want to go into detail about the repair centre too much, as I am here to discuss workshops, and not to advertise.

While we have a strong ambition to become one of the largest repair centres in Britain, we have great respect for the art of watchmaking, and we want to provide a working environment that is worthy of the best watchmakers. We are looking to expand to a new property and will essentially have a clean slate for interior design of the workshop. If you could provide some details as to what makes a great watchmaker's haven, I'd love to hear some ideas.

If you have experience of a watchmaker's workshop done well, please advise me on what made that place of work special. Also, as I am not a watchmaker myself, please don't be afraid to point out what might seem obvious to a watchmaker.

The property we are planning to move into has large windows and plenty of natural light. I hear that this is often an important factor in a workshop.

We currently have two Swiss-spec watchmaking desks, all the necessary machinery, and a polishing machine (which would need its own space).

Thanks in advance for your help on this.

Best,
Marek

·
Registered
955 Posts
yes you're right

polishing room needs to be separate
cleaning room needs to be separate
clients should not come in contact with the watchmakers
air pressure must be available also the vacuum machine.
microscope is a must