WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kinda new to the watch enthusiast hobby. I was hoping I could get some opinions on Vostok watches. From what I've read, they seem extremely rugged. And some of them look really nice. And there are so many options.

What are your experiences with longevity? Reliability? Water resistance? Failure? Getting it serviced?

·
Registered
8,729 Posts
I'm kinda new to the watch enthusiast hobby. I was hoping I could get some opinions on Vostok watches. From what I've read, they seem extremely rugged. And some of them look really nice. And there are so many options.

What are your experiences with longevity? Reliability? Water resistance? Failure? Getting it serviced?
If you don't know much about Vostok... check this out. Vostok Amphibia

Vostok is a great brand to get started in the WISness. I only have one, but I am sure with time, I will also get an Amphibia. So much, I've had this Komandiskie which is a mechanical (winds up). The amphibia is pretty much alike, but it is an auto. Super watches for the price and a modders best friend.

Vostok by Wolfsatz, on Flickr

Vostok by Wolfsatz, on Flickr

·
Registered
5,070 Posts
You'll get some people praising them, others saying they aren't worth their very affordable price. They have a few idiosyncracies -- no quick adjust date, wobbly crown, acrylic crystal... Personally, I think they are great. Have had a few and there will probably always be one in my collection. They are classics in the watch world.

·
Registered
928 Posts
Vostok are super freaking cool watches. even cooler when you start to understand the history behind some of the designs.