WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, hello from Rio de Janeiro to you all! I'm new to WUS and would very much appreciate to know how you guys manage to take such beautiful pics. What equipment are you using (cameras, filters, special backgrounds, lenses, ilumination tents...)? Thanks for sharing!

·
Registered
460 Posts
I'm using an old Sony Alpha NEX-F3 (12mp) with manual lens adapters off Amazon and old Minolta, Konica, etc. Manual Lenses off Ebay.

A solid tripod with a lot of movable axis, is important as well.

Natural Light is your friend.... if you don't have enough light, use a long exposure (This is where the tripod becomes INVALUABLE).

Here's a hand-held shot I took with a manual focus lens.

12826236_1699038537040208_2049931808_n.jpg

Hope this helps!

·
Registered
389 Posts
for reference:
Nikon D600
Usually Nikkor 55mm 2.8 micro or 35mm f2D for watches
all else 50mm 1.4G
tripod and one light/umbrella
Nikon S2 Nikkor 50mm SC 1.4 for film

but seriously, its not the camera

·
Registered
460 Posts
for reference:
Nikon D600
Usually Nikkor 55mm 2.8 micro or 35mm f2D for watches
all else 50mm 1.4G
tripod and one light/umbrella
Nikon S2 Nikkor 50mm SC 1.4 for film

but seriously, its not the camera
The camera is the least important part of the equation.

1st. Lighting.
2nd. Lenses.
3rd. Stable-Platform
4th. Camera.

In that order, in my opinion.

·
Registered
28 Posts
In that order, in my opinion.
It's not the bow and arrow, it's the Indian! And the Indian seems to be missing from your list ;).

Anyway, there are numerous things more important than the camera. Light, quality even more than quantity (you can always add more), a good idea of what you actually want to show, lots of things.

·
Registered
16 Posts