·
Registered
904 Posts
I enjoy all three with this

Spring Drive Marine Master

·
Banned
5,568 Posts
Voted for quartz mainly because of what I do for a living. I work in a machine shop so my work watches tend to get dinged and banged around quite a bit, hence the G-Shocks. But I do wear my autos on the weekend when not at work.

S

·
0 Posts
Handwounded and vintage: Valjoux 23, Valjoux 72, Venus, Valjoux 7733 / 7734, Valjoux 7760, Peseux 7001.

·
Registered
2,445 Posts
Overall I prefer automatic, but it depends on the watch IMHO. On classical watches a nice handwound movement is nice too! For diver's or tool watches quartz movements can be ok too. I really like Citizen's Eco-Drive movements :)

·
Registered
2,445 Posts
can you explain us what are these?
and what is the difference between aytomatic and handwind?(don't laugh i see u! B-) )
The Venus and Valjoux movements are (older) chronograph movements. The Peseux 7001 is a handwound movement with subsecond at 6. (it's for instance used as a base movement for the NOMOS movements AFAIK).
The difference between automatic and handwound movements is that a hand wound movement needs to be wound with the crown (daily) to keep it running. Automatic movements can be handwound (to get them started for instance), but they use the energy of the moving of your wrist to keep the watch running.

S

·
0 Posts
can you explain us what are these?
and what is the difference between aytomatic and handwind?(don't laugh i see u! B-) )
Well, Micha already explained the topic, you´ll see a lot of different movements here: http://www.watchscape.hpg.ig.com.br/index.htm.

The pics are exquisit imho so take your time to have a closer look.

Here´s a Valjoux 23 - a vintage beauty -:

And here´s the watch:

These old movements do have their special attraction (to me) because you can imagine what watchhmaking was about these times.

·
Premium Member
13,245 Posts