WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to watches so maybe you could help me with this problem/question. I have my eyes on this Seiko Red Alpinist which I'm considering to buy. Everything else seems fine but the seller has written that the crown falls off after unscrewing.

How bad of a problem is this and how much would it cost to get it fixed? According to the seller, the watch functions and there are no other flaws in addition to the need of general service.

Any help appreciated :)

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
Is the crown unscrewing from the stem or does the stem come away with the crown.

If the fore then it most probably only wants bonding on.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
I would have thought the stem requires removing parts cleaned and then bonded back together.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Not hard to fix but the stem will definitely need removed. Then its as simple as applying a little crazy glue to the threads and screwing the crown to stem.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Not hard to fix but the stem will definitely need removed. Then its as simple as applying a little crazy glue to the threads and screwing the crown to stem.

Thanks for sharing! Do you think the crown in the current state affects the watch's functions? How can I prevent the crown falling off? I have never owned a watch with a screw-down crown so gotta ask :)

·
Registered
399 Posts
Thanks for sharing! Do you think the crown in the current state affects the watch's functions? How can I prevent the crown falling off? I have never owned a watch with a screw-down crown so gotta ask :)
I doubt it can be adjusted in the current state. Likely cannot be hand wound either.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I doubt it can be adjusted in the current state. Likely cannot be hand wound either.