WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So there is probably a simple answer to this, but I'm just a noob and don't know how mechanical movements work. :(

1. How can I tell when I should stop winding a mechanical manual-wind watch?
2. How can I tell when I should stop manually winding an automatic mechanical watch?

Is there some kind of click? Does the crown become really hard to turn? Or do I just memorize ("30 turns from unwould position")?

IF every watch is different, how can I tell when I should stop hand-winding a ETA 2824-2 automatic movement?

As I understand it, automatic movements have built-in protection for overwinding via the rotor. BUT what about hand-winding an automatic movement? Is there a protection for that too?

Reactions: Sammieromanusie

·
Banned
8,921 Posts
So there is probably a simple answer to this, but I'm just a noob and don't know how mechanical movements work. :(

1. How can I tell when I should stop winding a mechanical manual-wind watch?
2. How can I tell when I should stop manually winding an automatic mechanical watch?

Is there some kind of click? Does the crown become really hard to turn? Or do I just memorize ("30 turns from unwould position")?

IF every watch is different, how can I tell when I should stop hand-winding a ETA 2824-2 automatic movement?

As I understand it, automatic movements have built-in protection for overwinding via the rotor. BUT what about hand-winding an automatic movement? Is there a protection for that too?
You cannot over wind a watch.

Wind the manual watch until you feel the crown tighten up. If you twist it hard and try to force it farther, you will break something but it won't be over wound...just broken.