WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
1,468 Posts
I'm a PR professional going on 8 years, and it continues to baffle me with how miserable the watch industry is at promoting its own products. YouTube videos are hard to find, reviews are hard to find, webpages suck, news is hard to find... this kind of badness would get me fired if I promoted my products this poorly.

· Registered
1,468 Posts
If I were in charge of watch releases, every single model would get:

-A launch video on YouTube walking people through the case, movement, dial and any other value props
-A press release
-A corporate blog post with pictures, walkthrough, video, etc.
-Addition to my webpage with full specs, part numbers, high-res stock photography
-A new product review program (NPRP) cycle with media review samples and a target press list protected by an embargo date
-A comprehensive Q&A to answer potential questions about the product
-A twitter/facebook promotional campaign with a dedicated community manager to answer questions and provide support
-At least some sort of contest to build brand loyalty
-Flagship models would get a ballsy, high-profile stunt to attract attention of non-traditional watch press
-A press presentation to walk press through the product, with NDA press briefings by phone to educate reviewers on the product before their samples arrive

Essentially, I would craft a comprehensive go-to-market strategy for every single watch to ensure that enthusiasts obtain the media and answers they're demanding. The modern watchmaker's approach to media relations is just embarrassing; the fact that I can't find professional reviews or corp. walkthroughts for all sorts of popular watches speaks volumes for how behind the times the watch industry really is.

· Registered
1,468 Posts
Hah!

You would so fire me.