WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer first: I have no knowledge of electrical engineering, but this is just my naive thoughts.

A lot of discussions are centered on how Spring Drive can generate enough power for the IC, especially in the thermocompensated 9RA2/5. However, that got me thinking: there must be more power generated than the IC and braking mechanism require, however small. Where does it go?

Or is it more subtle than this? And if so, how?

·
Registered
7,855 Posts
Disclaimer first: I have no knowledge of electrical engineering, but this is just my naive thoughts.

A lot of discussions are centered on how Spring Drive can generate enough power for the IC, especially in the thermocompensated 9RA2/5. However, that got me thinking: there must be more power generated than the IC and braking mechanism require, however small. Where does it go?

Or is it more subtle than this? And if so, how?
Rectangle Font Electronics accessory Logo Transparency

;)

·
Premium Member
1,279 Posts
Also bear in mind that the Spring Drive generator only makes about 25 nano Watts of electricity. That's 0.000000025 of a Watt. If my rough math is correct that means that if you took every Spring Drive watch ever made, and wired them all together, all running at once, you still would only have about 1 hundredth of a Watt of power.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Generally getting rid of small amounts of electrical energy is pretty easy, as was already pointed out just use a resistor. But I suspect Seiko had some electrical engineers help with the design that figure out how much energy was needed, so there isn't a lot of extra energy to heat your wrist.

·
Registered
390 Posts