WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am new to the watch game, and I have been doing some research on several brands. I am looking to purchase my first automatic and I am interested in a Chrono. So far I am interested in the following because I like the style and they seem to have a good reputation for being reliable:

- Damasko DC56

- Glycine Combat Chrono - white or blue numerals

- Damasko DA36 ( although it doesn't have a chrono the yellow sweeping seconds hand gives it a nice look)

- I have also been looking at the Sinn but the small date reading is a turn off. So now for the questions.

1) Where can I find these watches for purchase in the United States and what are the price points?

2) Are these good automatic watches for a beginning enthusiast?

3) Any other watches out there that I should be taking a look at?

I am kinda reluctant to buy from over seas because I have heard that you can incur extra fees...

Thanks!!

·
Registered
533 Posts
First of all welcome to the forums! You picked the right place for advice.

The Damaskos are a great choice but their availability at this point might be a deal breaker.

Don't know anything about the Glycine but I have never heard anything negative about them. They are a true icon in watch history, especially in the realm of 24hr watches for pilots.

I had been on the fence about the Sinn 757 for some time now and a deal came by that I just couldn't pass up. The only detractor for me is the lack of a constant seconds. I noticed the Glycine is the same so I figure this is no issue for you but I thought I'd bring it up.

Sinn has several other offerings that I had looked at including the 103 line.