WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a lawyer, nor do I intend to become one. But I was astounded this morning to learn that there are watch companies that sell watches for no other purpose than to help attorney hopefuls sit for the all-important LSAT exam:

watch-large.png
My sources tell me the wall clock in exam rooms can be difficult to see and electronic devices are forbidden, so this watch is what a growing number of test-takers wear to manage their time completing the four 35-minute sections (hence the upper limit at 35 on the dial). Once 35 minutes lapse, you just reset and start over.

Fascinating. I doubt anyone keeps them around in their collection for long, lest they be confronted with memories they'd rather forget!

·
Registered
777 Posts
I'm hoping LSAT-ers are sustainably minded and gift them to the next generation as a rite of passage ;)
Can this be considered a watch? Let's debate.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

·
Registered
777 Posts
Vastly over-priced and made from materials sourced in an ethically dubious manner? ;-)
Depends. If you pass and become an ambulance chaser or mesothelioma sympathizer, only takes one case to score big...

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

·
Registered
778 Posts
It's already said, but... I don't think this is a watch. :) It's something very similar (in shape) to watches, but it's not!
Maybe this works because of similarity with watches.

·
Premium Member
71,472 Posts
If I discovered that my chosen lawyer had to resort to using a watch like that in their exam I'd think very carefully about engaging them.

·
Registered
3,483 Posts
Couldn't you just use the rotating bezel on a dive watch to time 35 minutes?

·
Registered
915 Posts
I think it's cool. I would categorise it as a watch in that it's a timekeeping device, although one with very narrow function and usefulness.