WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here to the forum. This watch is a good size at 39mm plus I really have a thing for crown guards.
At the moment I also prefer to wear it with a leather strap vs. the metal SS bracelet. I have 3 of these leather straps in black, brown and gray. Currently using the gray since it is a lighter color for the warmer months.

rolex-1.JPG

:-db-)

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow really it's gone and no replacement? Also as to your point "tool watch" this is really true. I wear it all the time when working in my yard and shop.

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Still getting up to speed on posting. I meant to say "good" replacement. But I don't see an Edit link?

:think:

·
Premium Member
6,216 Posts
Welcome to the forum and thanks for sharing your thoughts on your 39 mm Explorer 2. Plus, the leather strap (grey?) gives your watch a more toolish look.

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Nice looking watch, I’ve got the new botched up version;)

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Hi- Watch is 2001 Cal. 3185 movement. The bracelet is probably good for hot weather but I like the lighter weight of the leather plus it looks beefier since the strap stays at 20mm all the way around the wrist. It's weird that I like this sub $20 dollar strap but it is well made.

:)

"Botched up version"?

I searched and found this image on the Rolex website but it doesn't have the extra hand or marked bezel. So why do they call it an Explorer?

new-explorer-rolex.jpg

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Also (speaking of tool watches) here is the other watch that is on my wish list:
iwc.jpg

IWC Ingenieur Automatic IW323904

Again 40mm and only 10mm thick with crown guard.
I love this watch.

:-d:-d

·
Registered
7,213 Posts