WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

Watch newbie here. So please forgive me for asking this question.

I did a search on this forum for "Soprod", but dont seem to find any answer to why this is a better movement than, say, the 2824.

People just say its better, but not much supporting facts other than it has better finish, and any watch with the A10 in it seems to be substantially more expensive.

The specs seems to be similar, PR length, accuracy, etc.

Can anyone sheds some light on why it is a better one? Is it worth the extra money.

Thanks

·
Moderator Emeritus
55,401 Posts
The Soprod A 10 for sure is more elaborated than a 2824 or the Sellita 200 clone. If compared to ETA it should be compared with the (better) 2892-2. A lot of info (and I mean a lot) is available on the www and here on WUS, just do a search ;-)
However, there is not much difference in comparing the SOP A10 vs. ETA 2892-2. Because of its lower production levels Soprod company can' t compete directly with ETA (2892-2) or Sellita (SW 300) on price. In 2014 The A10 was available at 180 francs per unit and was not offered in different different quality levels, the A10's "grade" is equivalent to ETA’s "Top".

More important when looking into the near future: Soprod, under the umbrella of the Festina Group, does not depend on the Swatch Group for its escapements. Headquartered in Reussilles, Kanton Jura, Soprod can source components from other subsidiaries of the FG, including MHVJ in the Vallée de Joux, for escapements, and MSE in Muriaux (JU) for balance springs. So, sooner or later, production figures will raise.

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
I have 2 Soprod and 5 eta watches. The Soprod powered ones are both +\- 2 secs a day. The ETA (Elebore & Top) are all roughly +/- 4-5 a day.

·
Registered
36,322 Posts

·
Registered
36,322 Posts
who the hell said soprod is better than eta??
Lots of folks: