WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys,
I found a watch that i want to buy, the thing is the buyer is asking for a bank transfer (international, since am not located in the same country).
This is my first time and I am not sure if it's safe or not. Any recommendations?

·
Registered
10,872 Posts
I have read many horror stories on the web about people doing that!
It seems that once he gets the money, that's it...You have no recourse.
Now, as in most cases you never read about the successful, honest transactions.
Like to add, Is it a dealer or individual?

·
Registered
2,764 Posts
I wouldn't do it unless the dealer was completely reputable and trustworthy. If they do you wrong, you have no recourse with a wire transfer. Be very, very careful.

·
Registered
6,127 Posts
I have done wire transfers. It was thru a reputable online dealer with references from other buyers.
As they always say, buy the seller.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
How am i supposed to know if they are trustworthy? is it ok to mention the name of the dealer here in the forum? to check if some one has done any transactions with them?

·
Registered
652 Posts
I would not do it. You have no recourse if something goes wrong.

Of course the seller wants a wire transfer, it's instant and without fees. But that is what Paypal is for, it offers some protection for the buyer.

Forget that seller - take your business elsewhere.

·
Registered
28 Posts