WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
577 Posts
Worn&Wound or...?

This is coming from a novice leather crafter (so take it with a grain of salt) but the construction of this strap looks pretty weak.

Basically it's a leather sandwich. Apart from the areas held together by stitching, most of it is held together with glue and edge paint.

For something that flexes so often I would think that this type of construction would eventually fail due to the degeneration of the glue.

I would rather see stitching down the whole length of the strap.

There are so many great straps out there that would probably outlast you and me worn on a daily basis.
I say move on but again, I am just a novice at this stuff.

Sent from inside a nondescript blue police box sometime in the 21st century...

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: Worn&Wound or...?

This is coming from a novice leather crafter (so take it with a grain of salt) but the construction of this strap looks pretty weak.

Basically it's a leather sandwich. Apart from the areas held together by stitching, most of it is held together with glue and edge paint.

For something that flexes so often I would think that this type of construction would eventually fail due to the degeneration of the glue.

I would rather see stitching down the whole length of the strap.

There are so many great straps out there that would probably outlast you and me worn on a daily basis.
I say move on but again, I am just a novice at this stuff.

Does this apply to all padded straps or specifically the W&W strap?

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hey kplam are there particular models you think look similar to the W&W strap? I scanned most of the offerings and didn't see quite what I'm after. Thanks for the brand recommendations anyway!

·
Registered
577 Posts
The basic sandwich construction applied to most padded straps and I must say that there are some nice W&W straps too.